Tying one on…

Nate Boggs and I came up with the same idea simultaneously around the time of our last fishing trip; now that winter is setting in we should get together and do some tying for next season.  This would also get me out of the house for a rest from the whirlwind that is a 2-year old grandson.  I think I hold up pretty well playing with him for hours on weekends, but at 62 I am becoming well aware why young people have babies.  He is the love of our lives, of course.  How can you not love this face?

Ryan 112413  Anyway, after running around most of the day yesterday I grabbed my ‘travel box’ of tying gear and headed over to Nate’s place for our first session.  On the way I stopped at our neighborhood winery, Thomas O’Niel, for bottle of cabernet sauvignon.  They only had the top shelf cab available and though I didn’t want to spend that much it sure was good.

I got to Nate’s and he already had materials strewn about the place ready to produce.

Materials

As we discussed where to start I realized that I had left my go-to materials home in the tackle box I use to hold all my hooks, threads, beads and other necessities.  The only answer was to open the wine.

Tying and T Oniel Cab

Nate did manage tying a few nice looking beadheads that I’m sure will catch fish feeding on Baetis nymphs.  I also was able to show him the advantages of the one-hand whip finish.

Nate tying

All in all a great afternoon and very nice cab.

Leave a Reply

